Describe the layers of the OSI model?

Trainee Asked on November 2, 2019 in Networking.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

OSI model stands for Open System Interconnection It is a framework that guides the applications on how they can communicate in a network.

OSI model has seven layers. They are listed below,

  • Physical Layer (Deals with transmission and reception of unstructured data through a physical medium)
  • Data Link Layer (Helps in transferring error-free data frames between nodes)
  • Network Layer (Decides the physical path that should be taken by the data as per the network conditions)
  • Transport Layer (Ensures that the messages are delivered in sequence and without any loss or duplication)
  • Session Layer (Helps in establishing a session between processes of different stations)
  • Presentation Layer (Formats the data as per the need and presents the same to Application layer)
  • Application Layer (Serves as the mediator between Users and processes of applications).
Reviewer Answered on November 2, 2019.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.